I’ve been struggling recently with being able to understand God’s
plan.  His word teaches us that
when we call upon him he hears our cries and answers them. 
As many of you know my family, our church, and this world lost a great
  man this week in Doug Lewis.  I am
sure that many of you, as I did, poured your heart out to the Lord in prayer for
  Doug.  As I became aware of the
fact that a cure was not to be I really struggled with understanding God’s plan
in this situation.  I know that
God’s plan is perfect and that he doesn’t make mistakes but I could not
understand why with so many people praying and such a Godly man suffering God
would allow this to happen. That is when the Lord opened my eyes to a very
well-known verse that I had never considered in this way before.
Proverbs 3:5
says, “Trust in the Lord with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own
understanding. 
That is when I realized my problem, God never promised that we would understand his ways, but
he did assure us that they are perfect. 
In fact the bible even tells us that God’s ways are higher than our ways
and there are certain things on this Earth that we may never understand until we
see Christ in Glory.  God’s
knowledge and plan is so much greater than ours that we cannot even begin to
comprehend it.  This verse teaches
us not to rely on our own understandings but rather, place our trust fully in
God that his plan is perfect and that what he has done has a purpose. We do not have to understand why, but
just trust that regardless of the outcome God’s way is best. 
Even when you are hurting trust that God's way is perfect and even
through heartache know that God is working out his perfect plan to further his
kingdom. 
Romans 8:28 And we know
that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are
the called according to his purpose. 
In the most difficult times of life we must place our trust completely in
God because he is never caught by surprise, but is always in control and we find
our strength to carry on in him alone. 
When our world is shaking be sure and know that God is still on the
throne.           
 


             
     I am so grateful for the time and the relationship that God allowed me to
have with my Uncle Doug.  I will
truly miss him.  He was such a
Godly example that I was able to look up to from a young age. 
Doug made a big impact on my life and I can honestly say that I am
  stronger in my walk with Christ today because of his influence. 
I will always remember his wisdom and guidance that he shared with me
when I sensed the Lords calling upon my life to go into the ministry.  I love and will miss Doug, but I know
that he is better now because he has seen the face of the one he lived his whole
life for.


Psalm 116:15- Precious in the sight of the Lord is the death of
his saints.



-Corbett Casteen


             


Peggy Cobb
5/11/2012 03:25:20 am

Corbett That was very special and I know that your Uncle Doug is smiling down on you and so proud of the young man you have become. Doug had a big impact on alot of people lives in ways that we may never know. Just know that his work on this earth will continue through the people he helped to see the right path to follow and he will remain in our hearts forever. Our thoughts and prayers go out to all of you.

Reply



Leave a Reply.